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Sunday, December 5, 2021

How to Choose the Right Keywords and Bid for Amazon Ads

    After an author knows what genre to right in, picking the right keywords and setting the correct bid for each ad on Amazon’s pay-per-click advertising platform play an important role in gaining exposure and selling books. Once these two main steps are established, an author will maintain consistent sales each month.

 Choosing the Right Keywords.

    Amazon has a search bar at the top of the web page where customers type in keywords in order to find the merchandise that they’re looking for. Authors have the upper hand by learning what keywords are the most popular, and this can be done by typing a particular word in the search bar. For example, when you click on the Books icon and type in the keyword ‘crime,’ ten of the most popular keywords under crime will pop up such as crime novels, crime books, and crime books best sellers. Authors can add these keywords to their respective lists when creating an advertising campaign, and the same holds true for other keywords like romance, suspense, or urban fiction.

 Selecting the Correct Bid.

    Indie authors make anywhere between $1.50 to $3.00 per sale on average on Amazon depending on the price and length of the book―Amazon earns 40% of that sale and charges the author a fixed cost for each book printed on demand. The bid selected by an author is arguably the most important aspect of book marketing because the profit margin is also based on how high or low the bid is. For example, let’s say that the author’s daily budget is set for $10, and the maximum Cost-Per-Click (CPC) is $0.50. The author’s average CPC for this particular day is $0.44, and the book ad receives a total of 23 clicks before reaching the spending limit. Out of those 23 clicks, the author sells six books for a 25% conversion rate. If the author charges $6.95 and makes a $2.00 profit off of each sale after the printing cost and Amazon’s 40% split is subtracted, a net profit of $2 is earned for the day once an additional $10 advertising cost is factored in [(six books times two dollars net profit) minus ten dollars advertising cost equals two dollars] ― [(6 x $2) - $10 = $2]. Any bid over $0.50 per click will potentially put an author in the red each day.

    There’s so much more to being an indie author than just writing books―marketing also plays a key factor in sales. Selecting the correct keywords and proper bidding are two important steps that are necessary to be a successful writer on Amazon, and failure is imminent if this knowledge isn’t properly applied in this given situation.

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